Move Me has been an interesting assignment. It has made think about what is important to me, what do I want my photography to say and then, what is the best way to portray it.

Then, of course, it needs to strike cords with others! Big questions!! Big challenges!!

So what was the best way to start?…at the beginning of course!

Firstly, what is important to me?  Well, since beginning my studies two years ago I have started looking at the world around me  from a different perspective, and questioning many things that before went unnoticed. I found out that I like taking photographs of people, and to start with that meant I was out on the street, taking photos of strangers, even following people to get multiple images of the some individuals in different moods and environments.

I find the human being such an interesting subject and the way it is viewed is often not to our mutual benefit. High on this list is the media’s portrayal of women, of what is beautiful, or should I say what is perceived to be beautiful and in tandem to this I am noticing changes within my own body, signs that the passage of time is catching up with me and I am not what I used to be.

Last year I did some lingerie fashion shoots, and of course, the model was young, long legged and gorgeous. My reaction to this was to go out and shoot an older woman, to find true depictions of a mature body…and to me, the resulting photos are just beautiful.

These images tie in with the next question of what do I want my works to say…….Very simply, true depictions of the world around us and the people within it honestly and openly.

I have been playing with colour, and observing the depth of feeling that can be achieved with the differing hues. My resulting images are in three different hues, and the models body language is quiet,  passive, almost giving an impression of aloneness…whether by choice or not is for the viewer to decide.

So I have made the big decision of which images to present for this assignment. The big reveal will be once they are framed and hung.

Comments
  1. Fantastic shots ! Really amazing! =)

    Like

Leave a Reply

